R3v3rs3e's Blog

Posts Tagged ‘fake video codec’

Porntube Anyone? Bonus Scareware!

Posted by Steve Espino on February 23, 2010

Blog entry here

Posted in Malicious Intent, Rogue Apps | Tagged: , , , , , , , , , | Leave a Comment »

Koobface on the Move, Serving Scareware

Posted by Steve Espino on September 18, 2009

The PC Tools Malware Research Centre has been seeing new movement on the koobface front Lately.

koob_fiddle

As koobface-serving domains are being taken down as early as the good guys discover them, the bad guys are at it and they respond by registering new ones. At the moment, their, C&C server is hosted in China with IP Address 61.235.117.83.

The bad guys are still using a fake facebook website, as well as posing as a fake codec, in order to distribute koobface.

fake_facebook

Clicking anywhere on the page, presents us with a file named setup.exe. Here are some of the IPs being used to distribute koobface:

koob_script

115.130.27.204
123.202.200.84
151.204.31.67
196.206.65.53
221.126.0.105
24.215.207.229
41.238.76.198
61.93.34.23
67.206.253.52
68.47.48.240
69.18.107.115
69.254.215.173
70.122.242.250
70.212.232.126
71.116.37.213
71.130.216.179
71.194.236.32
71.80.105.40
72.13.138.210
72.190.87.208
75.181.171.110
75.251.94.44
76.119.98.22
76.22.160.28
76.23.203.64
81.192.192.160
98.140.58.163
98.244.224.140
98.26.40.38
99.22.74.229

The javascript component being by used by koobface, remains bascically the same as before

And as before, koobface is still serving up scareware. From time to time, users are presented with a My Computer online scan, going through these domains:

rogue

gotrioscan(dot)com
plazec(dot)info

At some instances, we also get these warnings:

hardware_error
Internet_Antivirus_Pro

At the moment, these warnings are serving Internet Antivirus Pro.

In order to be protected against these attacks, users of PC Tools Spyware Doctor are advised to use the latest PC Tools update.

An earlier post about koobface can be found here.

Update:
Koobface has been going at it and here’s another one that spoofs youtube and serves koobface malware as a fake codec:

hxxp://71.197.170.226/d=www.marcellaburnard.com/0x3E8/view/console=yes/?go

Posted in Malicious Intent, Rogue Apps | Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 4 Comments »

Porn site distributes scareware

Posted by Steve Espino on August 27, 2009

Another website has recently been spotted to be serving up malware in the guise of fake video codecs.

This one praises itself as “The Best Nude Celebrity Movie Site”
hxxp://alyssafan.net/1.html

face_codec

But in order to watch the any video, we would need to download and install their “Certified ActiveX video codec (VAC codec) use to protect content Copyrights”

The fake fake codec can be downloaded here:
hxxp://alyssafan.net/Mediacodec_v4.8.exe

One of the components used in this attack is an onfuscated javascript file that can be found in the %temp% folder.

obfuscated

This script translates to:

deobfuscated

This script downloads:
hxxp://ue4x08f5myqdl.cn/u3.exe

Which then gives us scareware Safety Center:

safetycenter

Beware of fake video codecs!

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 2 Comments »

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.