R3v3rs3e's Blog

Koobface on the Move, Serving Scareware

Posted by Steve Espino on September 18, 2009

The PC Tools Malware Research Centre has been seeing new movement on the koobface front Lately.

koob_fiddle

As koobface-serving domains are being taken down as early as the good guys discover them, the bad guys are at it and they respond by registering new ones. At the moment, their, C&C server is hosted in China with IP Address 61.235.117.83.

The bad guys are still using a fake facebook website, as well as posing as a fake codec, in order to distribute koobface.

fake_facebook

Clicking anywhere on the page, presents us with a file named setup.exe. Here are some of the IPs being used to distribute koobface:

koob_script

115.130.27.204
123.202.200.84
151.204.31.67
196.206.65.53
221.126.0.105
24.215.207.229
41.238.76.198
61.93.34.23
67.206.253.52
68.47.48.240
69.18.107.115
69.254.215.173
70.122.242.250
70.212.232.126
71.116.37.213
71.130.216.179
71.194.236.32
71.80.105.40
72.13.138.210
72.190.87.208
75.181.171.110
75.251.94.44
76.119.98.22
76.22.160.28
76.23.203.64
81.192.192.160
98.140.58.163
98.244.224.140
98.26.40.38
99.22.74.229

The javascript component being by used by koobface, remains bascically the same as before

And as before, koobface is still serving up scareware. From time to time, users are presented with a My Computer online scan, going through these domains:

rogue

gotrioscan(dot)com
plazec(dot)info

At some instances, we also get these warnings:

hardware_error
Internet_Antivirus_Pro

At the moment, these warnings are serving Internet Antivirus Pro.

In order to be protected against these attacks, users of PC Tools Spyware Doctor are advised to use the latest PC Tools update.

An earlier post about koobface can be found here.

Update:
Koobface has been going at it and here’s another one that spoofs youtube and serves koobface malware as a fake codec:

hxxp://71.197.170.226/d=www.marcellaburnard.com/0x3E8/view/console=yes/?go

4 Responses to “Koobface on the Move, Serving Scareware”

  1. Spamfighter said

    Here’s a link possibly related to the creation of the JavaScript?

    http://fr.pastebin.ca/1578812

  2. Spamfighter said

    Looks like the latest JS for koobface I saw today:

    http://fr.pastebin.ca/1578814

  3. Steve Espino said

    Thank you Spamfighter.
    Good stuff!

  4. [...] has been seen to be using a bogus My Computer online scan similar to ones we’ve seen here, here and [...]

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.